New Twitter Feature Allows You to ‘Mute’ Users You are Following
Twitter is a powerful tool for authors to connect and engage with their readers. There are some limitations and features that can often bug users. One new feature just announced by Twitter allows users to block tweets from selected users appearing in their timeline without unfollowing them. This is a positive move to help users control the tweets that appear in their timeline without offending other Twitter users which is often the case when you ‘Unfollow’ them.
This feature will allow you to specifically select the tweets from those following you and hopefully ‘weed’ out the unwanted tweets that clutter your timeline. This new feature will receive a staggered rollout across the social network so don’t expect it to occur immediately.
Twitter product manager Paul Rosania says the new feature is designed to give users more control over their user experience in Twitter. ‘Muting a user on Twitter means their Tweets and Retweets will no longer be visible in your home timeline, and you will no longer receive push or SMS notifications from that user,’ Rosania says.
Rosania also stated; ‘The muted user will still be able to fave, reply to, and retweet your Tweets; you just won’t see any of that activity in your timeline. The muted user will not know that you’ve muted them, and of course you can unmute at any time.’
How Will You Be Able to ‘Mute’ Someone?
From Twitter’s Android, iOS or web apps, you will be able to hold down a username and select mute from the pull-down menu.
For the latest news on this feature visit Twitter.